Press release from Hatton promotions and Lucas Browne statement

Hatton

Ricky Hatton and Hatton promotions were made aware last night that Lucas Browne delivered a positive A sample drug test following his world title win over Ruslan Chagaev.

We believe strongly that boxing should be free from performance enhancing drugs. However we believe Lucas Browne to be a clean athlete who arrived in Chechnya  a clean athlete.

We are therefore conducting our own further investigations and cannot comment further at this time.

lucas Browne

Lucas Browne Photo Hatton Promotions

Statement released on behalf of current WBA regular world champion pertaining to his failed drug test.

“I would like to assure all my fans, the whole boxing world and Australia, that I am not a drug user or cheat. The news of this positive drug test has shocked and devastated me. I will be fighting for long as it takes to clear my name.

Prior to today I had never heard of the drug Clenbuterol and had no idea what it was used for. I am now aware it is essentially a weight stripping drug, as a heavyweight boxer the idea of me using it is utterly ridiculous. I am a long time staunch opponent of any drug use, performance enhancing or otherwise.

My team and I were well aware of the many risk going into a place like Chechnya, to fight a reigning champion. I believed we had taken sufficient precautions. In addition it was at out insistence that VADA testing was implemented for the fight.

I will be in a position to release more details and make further comments in coming days.

Thank You.

Leave a comment